Religious Education





Religious education provides the system by which believers grow in the understanding and living of their faith. Through the sources of scripture and the traditions and teachings of the Church, The Archdiocese considers religious education as the arm by which the faithful, especially, children, learn the teachings of the Church and sets it as a priority in its goals of evangelization. (Called to Discipleship, 1984) 


The Bible
Catechism of The Catholic Church
 Catechism of The Catholic Church Compendium
General Directory for Catechisis
Vatican II
Order of the Mass

Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (CCD)

The Office of Religious Education serves to assist in the evangelization of people through on-going education and formation of catechist instructions and catechetical instructors for young children and teenagers. 

The Office of Religious Education offers programmes for the development of catechists and children. The programmes include: workshops, Catechists’ renewal, professional update, retreat and reflection days, and ongoing training for development of catechists preparing children for the sacraments to complete their initiation into the Church. 


CCD is held in all parishes on New Providence and all major parishes on the Family Islands. 



Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA)

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) is a programme designed for a group of unbaptized or baptized persons from other denominations who desire to be received into the Catholic Church. These persons (called Catechumens) are formed by a group of trained laity. Because everybody comes from different backgrounds, the RCIA programme is designed also to take the catechumens through the misconceptions and misunderstandings they might have. 


Stages in the RCIA process: 


  1. Period of Pre –Catechumenate: Inquiry and Evangelization 
  2. Catechumenate 
  3. Enlightenment 
  4. Mystagogia 

Adult Faith Formation

Adult Faith Formation supports and guides adults along the journey of faith. Adult  faith growth is encouraged through the annual Scripture Series, The Lenten Missions and various talks.


The Sacraments

The liturgical life of the Catholic Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the sacraments. There are seven sacraments in the Church: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Matrimony, and Holy Orders.[Source: Catechism of the Catholic Church]

"The purpose of the sacraments is to sanctify men, to build up the Body of Christ and, finally, to give worship to God. Because they are signs they also instruct. They not only presuppose faith, but by words and objects they also nourish, strengthen, and express it. That is why they are called 'sacraments of faith.'" [Source: Catechism of the Catholic Church]
Seven Sacraments 
Jesus touches our lives through the sacraments. Our celebrations of the sacraments are signs of Jesus' presence in our lives and a means for receiving his grace. The Church celebrates seven sacraments, which are divided into three categories.
Sacraments of Initiation
These sacraments lay the foundation of every Christian life. 

In Baptism we receive new life in Christ. Baptism takes away original sin and gives us a new birth in the Holy Spirit. Its sign is the pouring of water.

Confirmation seals our life of faith in Jesus. Its signs are the laying on of hands on a person’s head, most often by a bishop, and the anointing with oil. Like Baptism, Confirmation is received only once.

The Eucharist nourishes our life of faith. Its signs are the bread and wine we receive—the Body and Blood of Christ.
Sacraments of Healing
These sacraments celebrate the healing power of Jesus.

Through Penance we receive God's forgiveness. Forgiveness requires being sorry for our sins. In Penance we receive Jesus' healing grace through 
absolution by the priest. The signs of this sacrament are our confession of sins and the words of absolution.

Anointing of the Sick
This sacrament unites a sick person’s suffering with that of Jesus and brings forgiveness of sins. Oil, a symbol of strength, is the sign of this sacrament. A person is anointed with oil and receives the laying on of hands from a priest.
Sacraments at the Service of Communion
These sacraments help members serve the community.

In Matrimony a baptized man and woman are united with each other as a sign of the unity between Jesus and his Church. Matrimony requires the consent of the couple, as expressed in the marriage promises. The couple and their wedding rings are the signs of this sacrament.

Holy Orders
In Holy Orders men are ordained as 
priestsdeacons, or bishops. Priests serve as spiritual leaders of their communities, and deacons serve to remind us of our baptismal call to help others. Bishops carry on the teachings of the apostles. The signs of this sacrament are the laying on of hands and anointing with oil by the bishop.





Prayer is the act we use to enter into loving, conscious communion with God. A "prayer" might be an entreaty, supplication, and/or petition to the infinitely powerful God. Below are links to some of the most common Catholics prayers are listed to aid you in your communication with God. Please pray with us!





© 2017 Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Nassau, Bahamas. All Rights Reserved.